PDA

View Full Version : Startup sound stutter

apocalypse2012
09-17-2008, 06:56 PM
I have a Sony z505hs. Been lugging this ultralight since Y2k. Most new OSs are dog slow on its 500mhz p3 (XP), so I have been trying to get a decent Linux distro on it forever. Nothing has worked at all until I tried Knoppix. With the listed laptop cheat codes, the live CD booted. I have not done the HD install yet.

The only problem I see so far is that the startup sound stutters like its got an IRQ conflict, but I did not see anything in the system settings to indicate a problem. Not that I would know, I am a complete linux noob.

Other things to note, these Viao laptops had all kinds of IRQ sharing stuff between devices, that may be part of the issue. So far I am just happy it boots. Does anyone have any ideas?

Harry Kuhman
09-17-2008, 07:18 PM
... I have not done the HD install yet.

..... Does anyone have any ideas?
I wouldn't be overly concerned about this sound problem if it's only at startup. There are a lot of things fighting for cpu at that point, even faster systems can sound like that. If the sound is good after Knoppix finishes booting that should be what you concern yourself about.

I'm more distressed about your use of the word "yet". See answer #2 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman), and consider something much more appropriate, such as a net install of Debian testing.

apocalypse2012
09-18-2008, 07:25 PM
Oh... You hurt me with that. Why oh why can't I use knoppix as just a straight up distro and install it on my HD. I get it, its the 'Live distro' thing. Okay, but this is the first distro to work on my laptop. I have not tried Debian, no, but all I have been hearing is that Knoppix hardware recognition is second to none. So I tried it and it worked. Damnit.