PDA

View Full Version : Gigabyte onboard LAN not working

dh100
11-12-2008, 12:45 PM
Hi all,
I am new to Knoppix and Linux having spent a few days experimenting after buying new hardware. The choice was simple, try and get another copy of XP Pro off Ebay (£50) (I am not a lover of Vista) or put the Knoppix CD in the drive. Due to being a bit broke (new hardware) I put that CD in the drive, and I am damn glad I did.
I got an old USB key (1gb) working instead of the CD and from then on I was hooked.
Yesterday I set up Knoppix on a 5gb partition on an 80gb ide drive.
Today I have been tweaking everything, I think the time and locale setup is much better than, er who was that company again? o yes MS.
My hardware
the motherboard is Gigabyte GA73PVM S2H
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16 Ghz, 1333 FSB,6MB L2 Cache
2 X 2Gb Mem
Total cost £240
Question
The onboard ethernet won't work, I had to use a network card. As this board has only 2 PCI slots thats half of them gone already.
It would be preferable to use the onboard ethernet but ...
Is it because its too new?
LAN RTL 8211B chip (10/100/1000 Mbit)
I might be better off with a board with a lot more PCI slots?
Anyway thanks for this great forum, I could not have got anywhere without it.
Cheers,
David

kirol
11-14-2008, 12:25 AM
I've got the very same motherboard. Rather happy with it, too. The chipset is nvidia 630i/7100, the linux ethernet driver "forcedeth". I remember standard etch (2.6.18 kernel) wouldn't support the LAN port but a 2.6.21 variant did. Knoppix 5.1 is probably too old, too. If you intend to install to hard drive, I'd suggest debian testing. In a few weeks this'll become the new stable release and be rock-solid and trouble-free to maintain, which cannot be said of knoppix once installed. Alternatively you may find a Japanese CD remaster of knoppix 5.3 (the original is only available in DVD format), or give sidux a try.

Harry Kuhman
11-14-2008, 12:34 AM