PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 5.3.1 invisible mouse cursor

Tektite
02-22-2009, 03:25 PM
Hi,
I'm new to Knoppix and Linux in general. I've looked for an answer to this problem here and on other forums and FAQs. Other people seem to have the same sort of problem but the few suggestions that were given haven't worked for me.

I'm booting 5.3.1 from DVD. Checksum verified it ok.
It boots fine but I can't see the mouse cursor. I've tried a Memorex ScrollPro 4-button+wheel mouse (wire, optical, USB) and a logitech 2-button+wheel mouse (wire, ball, PS/2). When both are plugged in, the KDE dies (having both plugged in with WinXP was not a problem). When either one is used singly, everything seems to work but the mouse cursor is not visible. I have been rebooting after changing mice to allow hardware detection. The cursor effect is there and useable, just not visible. I can open and select things by guessing the cursor location from the highlighting.

I've tried cheatcode "knoppix wheelmouse" and various settings in the control panel>peripherals>mouse options with no luck.
Someone suggested "Ctrl-Alt-F2, modprobe -r usbmouse, modprobe hid, Ctrl-Alt-F5" but that wasn't recognized.

I'm booting the DVD from a DVD ROM on a Dell Dimension 8400, Pentium4 630+HT, 1GB DDR2 SDRAM, 256MB NVidia GeForce 6800 with lots of HD space (WinXP when not booting from Knoppix disk). Someone mentioned that NVidia cards and Knoppix may not work well together.

Any suggestions that are noobie compatible would be appreciated.
Thanks!

hal8000
02-22-2009, 03:41 PM
You've answered your own question, just use one mouse.
Why do you need two mouses?
Unix/linux uses a third mouse button in general, so your logitech 2button + wheel will work fine. No applications are set to use 4 mouse buttons so put that mouse in a drawer and forgot about it. Unless you're going to be drawing, all mouse commands can be done with the keyboard anyway.

Tektite
02-22-2009, 04:31 PM
I am only using one mouse.