PDA

View Full Version : Reading data from USB attached SATA drive

wguimb
02-22-2009, 10:24 PM
Hi everyone. Let me first state that I LOVE Knoppix Live CD 6.0.1! It's fast and very easy to use. I also really like this forum and all the great help you folks are providing. I burnt a copy to CD, booted it and it came right up with no problems really.

Ok, before I ask my question, I should tell you my experience level. I have been involved with computers (every kind) for over 35 years (yes, I am old fart). I have some experience with Linux (many variants, including RedHat Suse, and AIX), SunOS, Windows (every version), and I am currently a beta tester for Microsoft. Most of my experience is with Windows based systems. My official job with a large company is network related. I haven't played with Linux in a long while but I understand the fundamentals and most commands.

Now to my question. I have read the FAQ's and performed many searches on this forum, but alas, I have not found the answer to my direct question. The question is "How do I mount an external USB attached harddrive in Live CD so that I can read the data off it and copy the data to my internal NTFS hard drive on the computer?" What I am attempting is to recover data from a SATA 500GB drive formatted by Linux which was taken out of a failed NAS device (Lacie 1TB NAS, the controller card went bad). The drive is working fine and I can see the ext3 partitions on it using a wide variety of tools (such as explore2fs, DiskInternal Linux Reader, ex2IFS, various Partition Managers, etc.). I can read the contents of the extended partition (5 logical disks) but I can't read the primary partition on the drive (which is where all my precious memories are stored). It shows unfomatted. The drive in question is attached to a USB port using an Apricorn DriveWire adapter. So, it dawned on me that I need to read the primary partition using Linux. That's where Knoppix Live CD comes into the picture.