PDA

View Full Version : Microknoppix 6.1? USB boot w/ persistent image

rdcuff
02-26-2009, 04:44 AM
Greetings -- I am somewhat new to Linux, so I apologize if my question comes across as simplistic.

I want to use Knoppix as an alternate-boot OS on a company Windows machine, and I have successfully installed Knoppix 6.1 on a USB key. Each time I boot up, the system asks how much I want to set aside for my personal customization - which I presume is the same as using a persistent image.

I specify a value, but then I never see the system write any of my customizations (e.g. screen resolution) to the USB key.

When I boot form the USB key do I need to enter any command line options to properly create the space for the customized install and then save to this image?

Thanks in advance.

Richard in Pennsylvania, USA

oliwek
03-14-2009, 04:01 PM
same issue here (using knoppix adriane on SDHC card in my eee-pc 701 Asus netbook)

what do you write by the way for this persistent data size? If I would like to get 200MB space, should I type :

200 (--> this triggers a reaction : message in german, seems stucked)
200MB (--> this allows to boot, but the same way as if I just pressed ENTER with nothing written : no persistence)

something else?

I guess the problem is to use an sdhc card in my netbook, probably knoppix has no superuser rights to write on it??

eionmac
08-02-2009, 02:09 PM
as rdcuff, is my problem
Each time Knoppix 6.1 boots from USB key it is as a new live system (yes - safe and correct) but in old systems we had ability to same email etc settings to prevent lot of time wasted on each set up & when using same computer we had ability to save image to windows HD or floppy disc to use knoppix as a second system.

How to save persistent image of Knoppix 6.1

any help

Larro
08-10-2009, 10:22 AM
Unbelievable!

Six months and no help/solution on this issue!?!?!

Sorry guys. I came here with the exact same question.

peterwurf
11-14-2009, 03:12 AM