PDA

View Full Version : NTFS mounted read/write - Still can't rename folders

Lobotom
03-09-2009, 09:59 AM
HI people, after a long venturing into the forum, I couldn't find an answer that suits me, so I make a new post.

First things first, my problem :
I recovery-boot Knoppix live CD to rescue a WinXP NTFS HD (single partition).
After a bit of struggle to make HD read/write (had to use mount -o remount,rw as right-clicked-changes wouldn't work) I can write on the HD, but can't rename directories.
Tried tons of mounting, unmounting, changing permissions and mods, on /mnt, on /dev/hda1, whatever... I can write on HD but renaming something gets me an "Access/permission denied" or such (not too sure anymore of the exact message).

Context :
I'm a Linux beginner, know a bit my stuff about permissions and mods, mounts, that kinda things, but ain't a pro.
I rescue this HD for another person meaning I can't try anything possible.
His WinXP won't boot (blue screen) dunno if HD corruption or what, and he wants to fetch back 18Go of personal movies and pix, which are in his Documents and Settings.
I don't dare reinstalling XP right away, I'm unsure but I won't take the risk the old Documents and Settings would be overwritten.
ALL I want to do with Knoppix is successfuly renaming Docs and Sets to another name so I can reinstall XP and later network transfer his pix/movie bulk.

My attempts included su command lines (btw does it help to create a su password first ? or same as with a no-password su ?) and in my many attempts the best I could achieve was :
once the the renaming launched, dozens of minutes of HD activity started, when it is over, renaming wasn't effective (I suppose a background warning for permission denied had to be done for each and every sub-folder / sub-file)
OR, the much more promising result : renaming started without complaining, a few seconds later computer freezes... :D

Any help on this very frustrating failure of a modest need is greatly appreciated.