PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 5.1.1 Incorrectly Detects Monitor

deesy58
03-17-2009, 10:12 PM
I have been using Knoppix live distros for several years. Suddenly, I can no longer run it from my desktop computer because my monitor (NEC LCD 1860NX) produces an error that the signal is out of range. The video card and monitor are the same ones I have been using for three years. This is a new problem that occurs 100% of the time. I called NEW Tech Support and they recommended that I specify "knoppix display=1024x768" at boot time, but that doesn't help. I also played with the video card's refresh rates - to no avail.

I noticed on bootup that Knoppix thinks I have a monitor that is a different model than my 1860, and I'm not sure how I can override the auto detection and specify to Knoppix that I have an 1860NX. Any suggestions (other than buying a new monitor)?

Thanks

Deesy

deesy58
03-19-2009, 08:18 PM
I have come to the conclusion that this monitor might be bad. The Knoppix hardware auto-detect thinks it is an NEC65e8 (whatever that might be, NEC Tech Support didn't know). None of the cheat codes work (display=, xvrefresh=, xhrefresh=, hsync=, vsync=), but the monitor works fine with Windows XP. This sort of problem will probably ensure that MS will control the desktop market forever. Oh well ...

Deesy

deesy58
04-20-2009, 08:26 PM
I have a 2nd machine on which I have installed Open SuSE 11.1, and it correctly detects and identifies the monitor. Apparently, the problem has something to do with Knoppix 5.1.1 booting from a thumb drive and putting my video into a mode that the monitor can't handle. I have tried all the possible bootup "cheats" that I know about, to no avail.

Does anybody have any ideas about this? I was able to use this Knoppix image about six or seven months ago, and I wou;d really like to be able to use it again.

Deesy

cvevans
05-03-2009, 11:48 AM
I have seen many things like this.