PDA

View Full Version : Internet Access in XP defeated by running Knoppix 6.0.1

johnsanders
04-15-2009, 11:53 AM
I have a space problem in MS XP on my c drive but d and e have space and they are all on my SATA drive. I was told that Knoppix and QT Parted would probably be able to resolve this problem. I have downloaded Knoppix 6.0.1 and it runs as a live CD on boot up and accesses the SATA drive and also the internet via my network router.
Next job then is to back up my files to the other PC on the network (CD or DVD). So I remove the Knoppix cd and reboot into XP. The PC then reports that a network cable is unplugged. A new cable is tried - no change. Windows cannot now access the local network or the internet. Running Knppix again shows it CAN access the internet ok and there are no cable problems.

How can I get network and internet access again on Windows XP ? Any help would be appreciated - I am a Linux extreme novice. Thanks.

OErjan
04-16-2009, 12:13 PM
HUH! uhm, try waiting 15 min or so, there migh have been an unclean release of the DHCP lease or similar.

johnsanders
04-16-2009, 05:11 PM
Thanks for reply. Not clear when to wait but have tried in XP and no change. Windows displays network disconnected Icon at right of task bar. Network card is AsusTek/Broadcom 440X 10/100 if that helps.
When running Knoppix the Router port indicator for the PC comes on about 5 secs after the start up sequence starts and goes off again during the shutdown kill sequence. Windows trouble-shooter is no help in this instance.

OErjan
04-16-2009, 10:35 PM
the troubleshooter has helped me all of 0 times so no news there.
as to knoppix working and windows not i think is VERY odd, uhm, you have a router between your computer nd internet? have you tried rebooting that? (or same if it is a DSL modem)

johnsanders
04-17-2009, 12:50 PM