PDA

View Full Version : Data back up using Knoppix

Sammy1719
05-19-2009, 04:56 AM
Hello everyone.
I am not very technically inclined but please be patient with me.
I was recommended to install Knoppix to take care of this problem that I have with my computer.

I have 3 hard drives on my computer.
1) is OS with some data.
2 and 3 are configured as RAID 0.

My computer will not start normal nor will it start in Safe Mode. I can't repair it using the XP disk because I don't know the password as my friend did it and doesn't remember the password.

The OS hard drive I can pull out and stick into my external case and back up the data. However, I can't do the same with my RAID-ed hard drives.

I want to do a clean install on my OS hard drive, but I am afraid to loose the data that is on RAIDed hard drives.

Someone suggested to use Knoppix as I will be able to access my RAID-ed hard drives without installing anything. Or something along these lines. Can you direct me to a specific post or a page in this site where I can learn more about this and use like a step -by-step guide to back up my data.

thank you all

Harry Kuhman
05-19-2009, 05:48 AM
Assuming that the raid drives are a software raid and not a true hardware raid drive set (which is the normal way most people do raid, particularly with raid on a motherboard), you very likely are not going to read them with Knoppix. And I should also point out that raid 0 drastically increases your chance of a drive failure (a failure of either drive, or even the raid controller, will cause loss of data on both drives) and in most cases doesn't offer much of a speed improvement.