PDA

View Full Version : knoppix wont boot past command prompt on dell inspiron 2650

toasterstrudle22
07-07-2009, 02:55 AM
i know the disc works, got it to boot into the gui/desktop on another pc. but it gives me a blank screen after the initial boot prompt. if i use screen=800x600 the display works but only shows a blinking cursor on a black screen. help please, i am new to knoppix and fairly new to linux.

Harry Kuhman
07-07-2009, 03:12 AM
i know the disc works, got it to boot into the gui/desktop on another pc......
This means absolutely nothing, I can show you plenty of bad discs that work on one computer but not on another. What speed was the disc burnt at? It very well might be a good disc, but if it was not burnt at low speed then the odds greatly favor the disc being marginal and you could spend a lot of time trying to resolve a problem that will only be resolved with a properly made disc.

toasterstrudle22
07-07-2009, 03:30 AM
the disc was burned at 10x. i dont think that is very fast.

Harry Kuhman
07-07-2009, 03:43 AM
the disc was burned at 10x. i dont think that is very fast.