PDA

View Full Version : Language

ttsdinesh
08-06-2009, 05:43 PM
I am new to Knoppix. When i ran a live CD, the language was in german. how to change it to English? do i need to install to change it to english?

Harry Kuhman
08-06-2009, 05:56 PM
There are a couple of ways. You could type in a cheat code every time that you boot the disc. Follow the documention link near the top of this page and read the section of the wiki on cheat codes. One minor draw back about this, besides having to do it every time that you boot Knoppix, is that the = sign isn't when you expect it to be on the German keyboard, so it ill take you a little searching to find it.

The better way is to download the correct version of the Knoppix ISO, the one that defaults to English and not to German! Once again, follow the documentation link near the top of this page and read the downloading faq, it will tell you how to distinguish between the different ISO files available and give you several other important tips also.

ttsdinesh
08-07-2009, 01:01 AM
Thank you. But i have slow internet connection. Is there any other way to change language other dan these two? And i am not able to understand your 1st option. can u show me with a picture.

Harry Kuhman
08-07-2009, 01:23 AM
Those are the only two ways that I know of, although here is an idea that is just crazy enough that it might work: