PDA

View Full Version : choosing the right linux dist (linux first time user)

blokk.m
09-02-2009, 02:38 PM
Hello everyone!
I am gonna give you a short resume...
im a former win/mac os user. i downloaded ubuntu linux, did a hdd install on the whole disk. thus removing my former os - win xp.
everything worked fine, except that ubuntu didnt support my graphic card..so all the colors were screwed up.
i read alot at different forums, and it turns out many others have the same problem. and because im new to linux i couldnt find a way around it.
i decided i should switch to another dist and choosed knoppix. i made a full hdd install, and it actually works out pretty well (even though i read that ppl dont recommend doing so)
problems with knoppix is that it dont seem to have a swedish keyboard layout, and i would really like that actually..

well my question too you guys is (sorry cant make a semi-colon sign, keyboard is all out of place)
should i try and install DEBIAN instead of knoppix, and do you think debian will support my graphic card?
ive read that knoppix is *based on* debian, so im thinking maybe it could work with my machine. .

I have a Acer Aspire 5003WLMi
SiS M760GX integrated graphic card
AMD Turion 64 processor

im open to any kind of linux dist which could support this machine!

Thanks

Harry Kuhman
09-02-2009, 02:54 PM
well my question too you guys is (sorry cant make a semi-colon sign, keyboard is all out of place)
should i try and install DEBIAN instead of knoppix, and do you think debian will support my graphic card?
ive read that knoppix is *based on* debian, so im thinking maybe it could work with my machine.
Welcome,

Asking about what distro to use can be like asking what religion to choose, but at least you have given people some good technical considerations to base their suggestions on and hopefully they will tie in any recommendations to your hardware needs.