PDA

View Full Version : No suitable Xserver

ksskruthic
06-06-2003, 08:48 PM
Firstly to mention is that I am a Newbie to Linux itsel..with just a few commands that i know perfectly...

Configuation that i have is :
PIII processor - - 850 MHz (256kb cache memory)
256MB RAM

I have booted from the Knoppix bootable cdrom saying (the cd given to me is an english version..)

knoppix lang=us

but it doesnt work...Everything seems to work fine but in the backgroung..I mean nothing is shown on the monitor..I have tried all the other modes(like screen=640x800...etc) but nothing seems to work ..I have even tried.

knoppix vga=normal

but even this doesnt work.. :shock: I've even typed 'scan' in the middle of the installation when it replied saying.."Undefined mode no.:assuming transperency..to get other modes & even tried those..but nothing seems to be displayed..but when a mouse click is given the cd runs indicating that the system is not hung....and when alt+crtl+F1 is pressed it returns back to command line as usual and al Linux commands do wrok fine(ofcourse 'startx' doesnt ..error msg'ing that it is already runnig)

Can anyone help me.... Thanx in advance..

rickenbacherus
06-06-2003, 09:03 PM
As you can see I've split your post so that you have a getter chance of getting assistance. Check out the Docs link at the top of the page. Look at the cheatcodes.
Check the md5sum of the .iso you burned, boot with testcd- if those check out OK then boot like so:

failsafe

Are you aware that you may string the codes together like so:
knoppix lang=us xserver=XF86_SVGA xvrefresh=60

See if you can get it to work using more than one cheat code. All of this has been discussed exhaustively- use the search function in the upper right hand corner as well.

Give us some hardware details- we need a little more to work with here, specifically your video card and video RAM.

ksskruthic
06-06-2003, 09:40 PM
thanx for the response..