PDA

View Full Version : Help recovering harddrive

mirceatm
01-09-2010, 04:14 PM
Hi guys and girls.
I really, really, really, really (you get it by now) need your help.
One night, tired of work, i close my notebook running windows vista and go to sleep.
Next day, i open it up and while listening to a series of beeps coming from the internal soundboard, i see a dreaded message: "Operating system not found".
I go "WTF" and i start to investigate.
Entering BIOS, to my surprise, i discover that the hard drive is no longer detected (every time i open it up, those beeps keep reappearing).
Not knowing what to do, i decide to burn KNOPPIX to a dvd and try to run some recovery programs. Of course i am a total noob and have not succeded at all.
So i really need your input. Here are some small facts:
1) The notebook is in warranty, but i have to travel 1046 km (two way trip) to take it in service.
2) The data on the harddrive is very important as it is work related (and of course i don't have a backup), and the guys at the service will most likely replace it instead of trying to recover it.
3)I tried to mount the hard drive, but it is not detected anywhere.
I used fdisk -l and a grep command i found in the wiki.
4) I do have an external hard drive on which to copy the files, supposing i can somehow mount it.
My skill in unix is close to zero, so please speak in noob-language :)

Thanks for reading this,
Mircea.

Harry Kuhman
01-09-2010, 07:30 PM
Hard drives do fail. If the BIOS can no longer detect a hard drive then it could very well be that the hard drive has failed (or someone wanted your hard drive and opened the little panel on the bottom of the notebook and took it while you were asleep). If the BIOS can't find the hard drive then I don't expect that Knoppix is going to be of much use. If your notebook has a recessed reset button somewhere on the bottom, you might want to try that. It really doesn't seem likely to help, but would not hurt at this point.