PDA

View Full Version : Using Knoppix 6.2 on a crashed PC to tranfer files

poisonshift
01-26-2010, 09:14 PM
I admit that I am new to this whole thing. I spent about 3 hours last night looking for a program that would allow me to transfer files from my wrecked Compaq Laptop running XP to my pristine Dell Vista x64.

I found Knoppix. After trial and error I figured out how to boot to the visual instead of the default text and speech. Boot: knoppix (enter)

But now I need to know how to transfer the files from the corrupted hard drive to my computer so that I can reformat the XP.

Please point me in the right direction (each new forum is a little bit disorienting). That or give me a step by step with links (ftp servers and such). If you give me links please provide me with the most user friendly versions. I'm pretty good with my computer, but I tend to want to over know. So the simpler the better.

Thank you, I can't wait to get this fixed. I've been nagged since Christmas to get this darn thing fixed.

Oh, and I'll most likely be using either USB to connect the two or a mass storage device.

Harry Kuhman
01-26-2010, 09:31 PM
First of all, you can avoid the text-and-speech issue by not downloading a version with "Adrian" in the name.

Second, I do use the FTP system, but can't provide a link to a FTP server that I would recommend. The server that I've been using has been "updated" and the updated version is truly awful. I have no link to the version that I've used. Still, there are plenty of free FTP servers available, a Google search should find you plenty.

poisonshift
01-26-2010, 09:42 PM
Adrian is fine. It isn't in my way, just threw me off a little.

Once I find a suitable ftp to use what do I do?

I need to know how to do the entire thing, step by step. Transferring the files and all.

Harry Kuhman
01-26-2010, 10:01 PM