PDA

View Full Version : Can't get into my hard drive

1616e
02-11-2010, 07:38 PM
I'm totally new at Knoppix and I need help. I have the 6.2 live knoppix CD. The computer boots up fine, I get to the knoppix desktop and I don't see any options to load the HD. I'm trying to copy my files from the HD since Win XP doesn't seem to want to boot due to virus damage. How do I get to the files in my HD???? Anyone out there with any info? REALLY frustrating since I've seen Knoppix versions with HD icons right on the desktop. The version I got just has a fancy wallpaper with LDE on it. I bought this from a Knoppix distributor online and it seems like its just MS Word with an OS.Anyone please help!!!!

Capricorny
02-11-2010, 11:22 PM
I got several pages of hits just by doing a forum search with your exact wording.
If you can't get useful information from that, this forum might not be the right one for you.
But someone should write a recipe for this situation. You might ask the CD vendor to contribute a piece on that to the wiki here. And please post the response and the name here if they decline.

The people trying to help out in this forum are mostly just ordinary Knoppix users, with very little time. And no time at all for repeating answers already given dozens of times.

1616e
02-12-2010, 02:36 AM
Thanks for that info, I haven't tried searching the forum but I will get on it right now. I haven't really explored the replies. In any case I'll look thanx.

woodsmoke
02-12-2010, 03:19 AM
Hi
This may seem kind of strange, but....... there are those who say that I'm just strange anyway! :D

How about turning the system off and then inserting a usb flash drive with maybe a FAT or NTFS file system on it with some files that you are SURE are there. In other words, there are words that you would easily recognize on the files.

When you then run the live cd and if you CAN see the usb flash drive, and then open it....