PDA

View Full Version : I seem to have broken a Live CD

inkyfingers
02-19-2010, 01:01 AM
Maybe I do not have enough knowledge to do what I am attempting ...
I had been running Ubuntu for 6 months - hardware failure.
I hoped to use Knoppix to recover Open Office work.
I put Knoppix 6.0.1 onto my son's old pc from the attic. This has WinME and a "restore" function in hda1, while Windows and all usual files are on hda2. Hda1 is quite invisible in Windows.
As I was beginning to get the hang of knoppix, but before deliberately creating a persisting image and before properly reading the manual, I tried to import to Iceweasel bookmarks from a Firefox backup (json)
This stalled Iceweasel. Every time I restarted Iceweasel the system would stall, requiring pulling the plug on it. I wanted to read online Knoppix documentation from Knoppix - not possible.
I came to the conclusion that hidden .mozilla files are on hda1.
I tried first to rename them, then delete them - no improvement.
Eventually I deleted (all this in graphical) all of home file. (Which I thought was residing on hda1).
Now the live CD will not load - it stalls as above. I think I have failed to action a shutdown since the import.
Any ideas?
With thanks,
Iain

Capricorny
02-19-2010, 01:39 AM
It may not be to your liking, but here is what I would have done:

1. Get Knoppix 6.2.1, burn to CD.
2. Set it up on a USB stick on a CD-bootable computer.
3. Start Knoppix on the troubled PC in either of two ways: If it boots from USB stick, just use that, otherwise boot from the CD, and run from the stick. (Turn off any booting from the HD.)
4. The important command here is: At the boot prompt, write

knoppix fromhd=/dev/sdb1
or whatever the stick will be called. If the hard disk is called /dev/hda, it may be /dev/sda1.
Then you will get Knoppix to ignore the hard disk during booting, and you can mount it and do maintenance on it afterwards.