PDA

View Full Version : Booting from USB without BIOS support (using CD?)

quadphonic
03-02-2010, 08:18 AM
Greetings,

I have installed KNOPPIX v6.0.1 to USB flash stick using the utility on the Live-CD, but have subsequently learned that my computer's BIOS does not support booting from USB.

Is it possible to use the Live-CD to boot from USB, perhaps with a command from the "Boot:" prompt?

I am new to Linux and want to use the terminal in KNOPPIX to learn UNIX shell script and directory structures, and would prefer to do so from the "safe" environment of a USB flash disk, rather than attempting to install to the hard disk.

Thank you in anticipation

klaus2008
03-02-2010, 10:42 AM
My old laptop does not support booting from USB flash devices, too. But one day I found a solution. I use a small programm called "PLoP Boot Manager" http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html running from CD.

quadphonic
03-02-2010, 11:15 AM
Thank you klaus2008, for your prompt reply and assistance with this query.

chip.ling
03-03-2010, 04:07 AM
Greetings,

I have installed KNOPPIX v6.0.1 to USB flash stick using the utility on the Live-CD, but have subsequently learned that my computer's BIOS does not support booting from USB.

Is it possible to use the Live-CD to boot from USB, perhaps with a command from the "Boot:" prompt?

I am new to Linux and want to use the terminal in KNOPPIX to learn UNIX shell script and directory structures, and would prefer to do so from the "safe" environment of a USB flash disk, rather than attempting to install to the hard disk.

Thank you in anticipation

1. Burn a Knoppix v6.0.1 on the CD.

2. Make sure your BIOS setting can boot from the CD drive first.

3. Insert the CD to your machine.

4. Power on the machine and let it boot all the way to the X-window appears.