PDA

View Full Version : Default KNOPPIX Download - No Network Support

LinuxDistros.CJB.NET
06-07-2003, 11:17 PM
Hello,

I have downloaded the KNOPPIX default english ISO and I am not able to get access to the internet. I downloaded it a while back it says its release 3.1 from 06-08-2002.

I receive an error message from the browser that says:
"An error occured while loading http://www.knoppix.com
Unknown host knoppix.com"

I have tested it on several computers that have 3COM, SMC, DEC, Digital and Intel NICs .... none seem to work.

DOESN'T KNOPPIX AUTO DETECT AND SETUP THE NETWORK CARD FOR NETWORK AND INTERNET ACCESS?

I would like to add the Sun Java 1.4 Support to the CD so that I can run an application that requires it. Can I burn KNOPPIX, JAVA, and the application all onto one CD without any problems?

Thanks in advance!

pmilligan
06-08-2003, 12:56 AM
I'm a newbie to Knoppix (but not to GNU/Linux) and only have used Knoppix 3.2, but I think you have made an incorrect assumption. From my limited experience, Knoppix does not boot with the network enabled.

If you will go into the Knoppix menu, there is a configure of an internet item that will present you with a dialogue for setting up the network. You can opt for DHCP if that is running on your network, or you can manually set the host IP address, name server, and gateway.

There was no need to specify the NIC driver, so the autodectect must have taken care of that much.

I'm not near a system I can just reboot to run Knoppix and give you the exact line of menu selections. You might check the FAQ's and see if it is already listed there.

I hope this is enough to get you on the Internet

Pat

PS, you may want to save your configuration to be able to restore your network configuration the next time you boot Knoppix.

LinuxDistros.CJB.NET
06-08-2003, 01:31 AM
I can't find anything :(

ps. i'm a newbie too.

pmilligan
06-08-2003, 02:10 AM
Check the fourth question in