PDA

View Full Version : how to get Javascript to work

seribas
03-26-2010, 08:50 PM
I am very new to knoppix, a freind gave me a cd and i instantly fell in love.

there are a few basic things that i am trying to understand, ill try to keep this short and sweet.
i noticed in iceweasel that javascript was not working looked into prefrences and it says it is enabled. so i went to download the plug in, on the http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/ site there are 5 different versions, which do i pick? I need someone to be very specific please, as if you are talking to a 12 year old.

on a whole other topic. so if knoppix is live cd/flash drive than how is it posible to save things?! even if i can get javascript enabled or a preference changed for instance it is always reversed everytime i reboot.
saving knoppix to my hard drive is not an option at this time just fyi.

Harry Kuhman
03-26-2010, 09:28 PM
Knoppix was intended as a Live CD, a way to introduce Windows users to an alternate OS (Linux) without their needing to install anything to their hard disk.

It is a great way to get your feet wet with Linux and consider that there are other options out there beyond what Microsoft offers. It has other good uses too, such as recovering data from a ruined Windows system, or testing a system, even when there is no OS installed, or no hard disk at all, or to see how well the system can run Linux (at least a base i386 form).