PDA

View Full Version : How/where can I load/put more fonts into the Knoppix 6.2?

GizmoPlushie
05-18-2010, 11:09 AM
I wonder how to and off course where to put some additional fonts and where to get them and if programs would see new fonts lightly?

Is it easy?

mecho
05-18-2010, 02:46 PM
you cna put them in /usr/share/fonts/X11 and then do
sudo fc-cache -f
in terminal to refresh the fonts

krishna.murphy
05-18-2010, 02:48 PM
Take a look here (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/threads/28397-utf-8-console?p=120284#post120284) for some pretty good clues on the topic of fonts, etc.

Krishna :mrgreen:

mecho
05-18-2010, 03:32 PM
He is most probably asking about fonts for use with X - true type fonts only need to be copied in /usr/share/fonts/X11 and the cache has to be refreshed to take effect

GizmoPlushie
05-19-2010, 03:19 PM
I'm asking without knowing anything. I'm a newbie, sometimes LOST in the bush of Knoppie .')

GizmoPlushie
05-19-2010, 03:19 PM
He is most probably asking about fonts for use with X - true type fonts only need to be copied in /usr/share/fonts/X11 and the cache has to be refreshed to take effect

How can I refresh the cache? Manually in some way?

mecho
05-19-2010, 04:57 PM
Check my previous message. First you put your TTF fonts in /usr/share/fonts/
You can make one folder called truetype and place your fonts in there. Then you open lxterminal and type sudo fc-cache -f
hit enter and you are done. Your fonts will appear in any application using truetype fonts

GizmoPlushie
05-25-2010, 12:33 PM
I've downloaded "Stargate Atlantis True Type Font" and many polish TTF fonts I've found freely. In the evening I'll give it a go and report back, Sir! :)

mecho
05-25-2010, 04:17 PM