PDA

View Full Version : Toshiba L305-S5957 won't boot from CD

GTIMESTWO
06-15-2010, 03:17 PM
I am very new to this, so please excuse what may be some obvious questions. I downloaded the data recovery software Knoppix 5.1.1 and burned to CD (at 48x - the only option that appeared). When boot from the Toshiba begins, error message appears:
Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.

I tried the four options from tips/tricks including the testcd. It always give me the same message. The Toshiba is running Vista. I have searched the forum for similar issues and I am trying to recover any data possible from the hard drive before I reformat and send it back to Toshiba...it is still under factory warranty.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated!

krishna.murphy
06-16-2010, 01:41 AM
I am very new to this, so please excuse what may be some obvious questions. I downloaded the data recovery software Knoppix 5.1.1 and burned to CD (at 48x - the only option that appeared). When boot from the Toshiba begins, error message appears:
Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.

I tried the four options from tips/tricks including the testcd. It always give me the same message. The Toshiba is running Vista. I have searched the forum for similar issues and I am trying to recover any data possible from the hard drive before I reformat and send it back to Toshiba...it is still under factory warranty.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated!

I think this may be a bad burn on the disk (very common.) Try re-burning without the Windows Explorer running (ctrl-alt-del, run Task Mnager, click Processes, then Explorer-End Task, then start the program you use to burn disks on the Programs tab.) This is reported to make burning problems vanish (YMMV.) Let us know how it goes, and have fun.

Cheers!
krishna :mrgreen:

winxpuser50
06-28-2010, 07:02 PM