PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

jones28786
07-11-2010, 05:48 AM
Hello. I'm a newbie from NC USA and I have some questions. I downloaded the knoppix 6.2.1 release 2010-01-31 and put it on a dvd. i would appreciate any replies to my questions.

How do I get it to stop talking? I don't want it talking everytime I mouse-over or click on something.

I used iceweasel 3.5.6 to try to connect to my wireless network. it says "connection established. you are now connected to dlinkwireless. But when I try to browse the internet I cannot. I get a page not found error.

Thanks for any help and I'm sure I'll have some more questions as I learn more about knoppix.

krishna.murphy
07-11-2010, 02:39 PM
Hello. I'm a newbie from NC USA and I have some questions. I downloaded the knoppix 6.2.1 release 2010-01-31 and put it on a dvd. i would appreciate any replies to my questions.

How do I get it to stop talking? I don't want it talking everytime I mouse-over or click on something. Did you get the 'Adrianne' version for visually-impaired folks? It bugs me, too. At boot time (big penguin onscreen), you can override the default and force the regular GUI interface as follows:
knoppix
If that fixes it, just download the non-Adrianne version (it can be done by tweaking, but it's easier by far, IMHO, to just get the right one.)

I used iceweasel 3.5.6 to try to connect to my wireless network. it says "connection established. you are now connected to dlinkwireless. But when I try to browse the internet I cannot. I get a page not found error.