PDA

View Full Version : I'm having some problems with wine and dpkg

DreadBob
03-01-2011, 10:12 AM
I'm new to linux, and have been doing an ok job of getting it to work on my lonesome. However I'm getting errors using dpkg on the lines of no such file or directory found. I've got all the file names right when i put the command in. But knoppix doesn't seem to be able to find them. Don't know if i'm doing something wrong or if it's broken. I love linux and am using is as my only OS after getting fed up with windows stupidity. Just need a little help along my way,

Werner P. Schulz
03-01-2011, 12:57 PM
... don't use Knoppix as your only OS. It is designed for demonstration and experience purpose and last but not least as a recovery tool. But out of the box there are no security updates, no root password and no user mangement.

Why not Ubuntu 10.04 LTS for example?
https://help.ubuntu.com/community

As a beginner to Linux don't use dpkg for installation and deinstallation of software. Try 'Preferences/ Synaptic Package Manger'.

Greetings Werner * http://www.wp-schulz.de/knoppix/summary.html
Own Rescue-CD with Knoppix (Knoppix V6.4.4 remaster)

Forester
03-01-2011, 03:06 PM
Hi DreadBob and welcome to the Knoppix forums.

Sorry to you ask you questions instead of giving you answers, but it is to avoid answering the wrong question and just confusing you further ...

Which Knoppix version are you using (6.4.3, 6.4.4) and are you using the CD edition or the MAXI edition on DVD ?

What exactly have to typed in and what exactly is the system's reply ? Try using copy/paste to copy the exact text into your reply.

What are you trying to achieve ? Like are you trying to install a (more recent) version of wine you have downloaded from winehq.org ?

Can you tell me if wine is already installed and, if so, which version ? If you're not sure how to do that, try dpkg -l | fgrep wine. I get stuff all with the same version number: 1.0.1-3.1.