PDA

View Full Version : Live Boot CD doesn't see hard drive running Windows XP Pro

Dirtbiker
03-08-2011, 07:13 PM
I'm attempting to use Knoppix v6.4.4, which I just found out about. I'm a total newbie to Knoppix and the forum, but this is a really cool tool. I've searched the forum and haven't found an answer, so I apologize in advance if I'm asking something already on the forum.

I have (had) a machine running Windows XP Pro. It worked one day, and then wouldn't boot the next time it was powered on and is saying the boot sector is bad. So, I created a Live Boot CD to see if I could fix the hard drive. The Live Boot CD works fine, but the computer/knoppix doesn't show the hard drive when Knoppix is loaded.

So, does that mean the Hard drive is toast and a reformat/reinstall is my only option? While the critical stuff is backed up, there are a few things I'd like to retrieve if possible.

Thanks a million if anyone has a magic bullet!

Forester
03-10-2011, 12:17 AM
Hi Dirtbiker and welcome to the Knoppix forums.

So you're new to Knoppix. Are you new to Linux as well ?

Can you open a terminal emulator (third icon from the left on the panel at the bottom of the Knoppix desktop) and type in the following:

cat /proc/partitionsThis should print out four columns of information. The fourth column is name. The first entry should be named cloop0 (that's the Knoppix on the CD) and the second should be named sda. That's your hard drive. If there is only the cloop0 entry then your hard drive is toast (but I don't think it will be).

If the sda entry is there the next entry should be sda1. If it isn't there, the partition table is gone and I think you'll have to kiss your files good bye and reinstall.