PDA

View Full Version : How to get Firewire on Knoppix 6.4.4 Live DVD

padillah
03-27-2011, 06:48 AM
I am a real newbie here and I'm trying to capture video from my camcorders. I tried in Windows but that proved futile. I'm now trying to use a liveDVD and see if this will work. If it does then I can spend some energy repartitioning the hard drives and install a permanent solution. Anyway, I'm trying to get Kino to run and it's not seeing any 1394 devices. So I looked at the Kino page and they have instructions that say just: insmod ieee1394 insmod ohci1394 insmod raw1394 ...and it will work. Well I keep getting errors when I try that. I su root, then try the ismods and I get: "can't read : No such file or directory What am I supposed to type? I've been working on Windows systems for years and I've very little experience with Linux. Thanks in advance for the help. Tom P.

Forester
03-27-2011, 10:38 AM
Hi padillah and welcome to the knoppix forums.

If, like me, you expect to be able to plug-in a firewire device to your PC / laptop and have it work 'out of the box', I fear you will be disappointed. I don't have fireware capability so all I can do is give you some notes. Since you have little experience with Linux, they make not make much sense in which case, giving up may be your best option.

If, could you open a terminal and type in:

lspciScan the output an look for a line that says firewire. E.g.

02:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832] (rev 05)That's the controller. You are going nowhere until Knoppix can see this. If it can and you've got your camcorder plugged in it might in the output of lspci. I don't know else it would appear.

If the controller isn't there, then you need might need to turn firewire on in the hardware. Look for a (blue) Fn keyboard combination to do this and/or a BIOS setting of some sort.