PDA

View Full Version : How do I rebuild the init ram disk ( initrd )



Hackepeter
06-17-2003, 02:01 PM
Hi,

I installed knoppix on HD ( /dev/hda6 as root Partition ).
After a few tests I decided to move the root Partition to /dev/hda1.
Moving the partition worked perfect, but unfortunately the init ramdisk still points to /dev/hda6. ( in the linuxrc script in the initrd image mount /dev/hda6 is HARDCODED ).
(Booting without initrd works, but I would like to activate it again).
The standard mkinitrd does not generate a working initrd.

Is there a kind of knoppix-mkinitrd script?
Or has anybody other hints for me?

Thanks,

Hackepeter

garyng
06-20-2003, 07:26 PM
Why does a HD install requires initrd ? It is not needed in general unless you have some special needs like your root partition is on a SCSI/RAID device that the bios don't know how to boot from.

just curious.

Stephen
06-20-2003, 07:38 PM
Why does a HD install requires initrd ? It is not needed in general unless you have some special needs like your root partition is on a SCSI/RAID device that the bios don't know how to boot from.

just curious.

It's the way Klaus built the kernel the file systems are loaded as modules not compiled into the kernel therefore you need an initrd (initial root device) to be able to load the file systems otherwise you could not boot.