PDA

View Full Version : Conexant modems - autodetect for next version

guiyo
01-08-2003, 05:03 PM
Hi! I'm very happy with knoppix. I've tried several "easy" and non intrusive linuxes with little success (winlinux, etc.) - so imagine my surprise when I burn the cd and my laptop (HP ze1110) runs linux in two minutes, video, sound everything without a glitch!!! couldn'tbeleive it.
though this is too good to be true. my modem, a conexant winmodem, is not recognized, and I have to surf the web with m$.... There's a website with the drivers, though I'm just a newbie and don't know how to install them...
http://www.mbsi.ca/cnxtlindrv/
any help appreciated!

thanks!

spool
01-12-2003, 10:42 PM
:D :? :shock: :cry: :x :wink: :wink: :wink:

I too want this. Knoppix is very very cool!
Any help with this conextant modem would be more than appreciated.
(beg grovle grovle beg beg)
Thank you, Thank ya verrry much.

Cain't wait to do internet with my Knoppix!

spool

chrisr
02-10-2003, 11:09 PM
Hi Guio,

same problem here. There is a family of drivers from Conexant available, but I am not yet clued up enough to get that to work with a Knoppix CD.
Anyone out there knows how to do it?!

Kind regards -

chrisr

taralezh
03-13-2003, 05:34 PM
Hi all:)
I am new to knoppix, but I really like it!
After the hdd install I have problems only with my modem - Connexant HCF... and visit the website to download the rpm files.
But when I type:

rpm -i hcf........rpm, it apears a message:

pcutils is needed
/bin/sh is needed

does anyone knows something about these files or directories???

Is there other way to install my modem?

I will be happy if someone writes.

Emanuella

RockMumbles
03-13-2003, 07:55 PM
Knoppix is built with debian packages which are *.deb packages not *.rpm packages. Knoppix and debian do have some support for rpm packages but you will have to " force" the install as there is no database of installed rpm packages, as no rpm packages are installed.

IIRC(??)