PDA

View Full Version : Dual Boot WinXP (NTFS) and Knoppix

A.T.O.B
06-24-2003, 06:51 PM
Hi All,

I am running Knoppix off the cd and I love it. I really want to get into linux and php and I learning quick. However, I am looking for a truly idiots guide to installing Knoppix for dual boot.

I am running WinXP Pro (NTFS partition) on my laptop. I am going to get partition magic (as I need it for work as well) so I can partition my 40Gb harddisk into two 20Gb partitions.

A link to a COMPLETE IDIOTS GUIDE would be appreciated.

Many Thanks
A.T.O.B

ps. Do I use ext2 or ext3 for the partition?

pps. I have limited knowledge of Linux, however, I am advanced in windows and have great technical support knowledge (so I'm not a newbie to computers; just linux :wink: )

qa1433
06-24-2003, 07:43 PM
I would use ext3.

Here is a link to get you started.

paul 8)

qa1433
06-24-2003, 07:44 PM
fogot the link.

www.phpcad.com/knoppix-install.html

paul 8)

adamm
06-24-2003, 09:27 PM
Just remember, if your windows partition is going to be NTFS you can't write to it.
You may want to make a small FAT32 partition that you can read and write to from Knoppix as well as XP.

jmboris
06-24-2003, 11:25 PM
hello,

i have win xp, windows 2003 server an knoppix in the same hard disk..
the windows parttion is NTFS and ther is no problem, ...

when you turn on the pc it ask you what system you want to run (linux, hda1, hda2)....

Doc
06-25-2003, 12:24 AM
Hey ATOB, just done what you are asking about...

The link posted by QA has all the info you need to install Knoppix alongside WinXP, but I'll tell you what I did.

First, I created 2 Partitions using Partition Magic under Windows.... reason being I didnt wanna screw up the OS I use most (AT THE TIME!!!! NOT ANY MORE!!!!) and checked it still booted WinXP up.. Knoppix (Debian really once HD installed) requires 2.5Gb at least for itself and a swap-file partition GREATER IN SIZE to your Ram, don't make it less or it'll run slow when paging....