PDA

View Full Version : Language

felinus
10-01-2015, 09:06 AM
I am new to Linux and have spent a few weeks trying out the various distro's. I keep coming back to Knoppix as it
really seems the best.
I have one problem though, every time I boot I have to type in "knoppix lang=uk" to get the Uk keyboard. Surely there is a way to incorporate this
into the boot sequence somehow ?
If someone can solve this one I would be very grateful indeed.
Regards to all
Felinus

joselb
10-01-2015, 01:46 PM
Open the File Manager (PCManFM) and go to: Knoppix-boot-syslinux and then edit syslinux.cfg (click and write). Add the line lang=uk in all the lines and save it. Reboot

felinus
10-02-2015, 11:11 AM
Many thanks joselb, I will try it at the weekend.
Thanks

felinus
10-03-2015, 10:46 AM
Tried that in various ways, but still no luck.
This is my original syslinux.cfg file;

DEFAULT loadconfig

LABEL loadconfig
CONFIG /boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg
APPEND /boot/isolinux

philo
10-03-2015, 12:49 PM
Oops!
UK is for ...Ukraaine.
en_GB is what you want.

philo
10-03-2015, 01:52 PM
lang=en
should work

felinus
10-03-2015, 02:11 PM
Thanks philo and joselb, I have tried it and still I get the US keyboard layout 1
This is the layout of my syslinux.cfg file as it was
DEFAULT loadconfig

LABEL loadconfig
APPEND /boot/isolinux

I have tried adding lang=eng and indeed lang=uk into the start of every line also at the end and under each line but I still get the US layout.
I am using Knoppix 7.4 on a stick btw.

Werner P. Schulz
10-03-2015, 05:02 PM
Have a look at → Micro-Remastering

(http://knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes)
LABEL loadconfig
APPEND /boot/isolinux
This isn't the origin file!

superman
10-03-2015, 09:47 PM
@felinus The cheatcode, lang=uk, works for me. Maybe you have just edited the wrong file. The /mnt-system/boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg file (mentioned in the link from Post #8 ) probably is the one you are after.

joselb
10-04-2015, 08:06 AM