PDA

View Full Version : Mulimedia Knoppix

ShadowOne
06-25-2003, 04:26 AM
I'm new to knoppix but I already know what I'd love to see. Knoppix home entertainment system. Keep the internet capabilities, one browser my choice would be for Mozilla. A DVD player, MP3 player, picture viewer with slideshow capabilities, support for all popular picture and video formats. Support for popular "all in one" video cards , network capabilities so that I can get the media files off my home PC. Easy all I want is to be able to take an old PC with a good TV out card and sound card throw in the Knoppix distro and throw out all the stuff that's cluttering my home entertainment stand. As an aside wish list, software to rip DVD's so that I can store them on the hard drive wold be nice. I'd also like to see a driver that could automatically load my settings from a CF or memory stick at boot. removing the star office package the games and utilities would likely save a lot of space on the CD and allow for less compression which would make my Mulimedia Knoppix a little faster. One can only dream........

Tortoise
06-25-2003, 11:34 PM
Sounds good, but interestingly, there was some talk about whether reducing the compression would make it quicker, since apparently the data transfer is the slowest part, not the decompression - compressing the data effectively means more data per time period can be read from the cd, since relatively fast cpus can decompress faster than cd drives can read...
There must be a stage at which the drive is fast enough or the cpu slow enough to reverse this, but I don't know where it is, certainly it is not true for hard disks.

qa1433
06-26-2003, 02:32 AM
hI,
Try this. It is based on Knoppix. However, it is highly media. I installed it. It is prety good.

ShadowOne
06-26-2003, 03:14 AM
hI,
Try this. It is based on Knoppix. However, it is highly media. I installed it. It is prety good.