PDA

View Full Version : Internet problem with wireless card

ComatoseJedi
06-25-2003, 09:05 PM
Hi. I'm new to linux. I have a Windows Wireless Network card MN-520. When I boot Knoppix I can see the name of the card among all the rest of my hardware. When Knoppix finally loads up and I try to get to a website it says, "An error occured while loading http://www.google.com
unknown host www.google.com"
I have an always on connection when im using windows.
I've tried to ping other websites but it doesnt work. It just says, "ping: unknown host www.google.com"
I did the "netcardconfig" and chose not to use DHCP broadcast (only because nothing happened when I originally chose yes). Then all I did was keep hitting ok when all the IP addresses started coming up (I didnt know what I was supposed to be doing).
I was reading other posts that said to use "ifconfig eth0". I did and then had no idea what to do next, along with "lsmod" and "lspci -v".

Please help if possible. I hope I provided enough information to solve the problem. If you have an answer or need more iformation from me feel free to either post here, Instant Message me at "FeelConscious" on AIM, or send me an E-Mail at "Koikioio@netzero.com"
Thanks

-=NTL=-
06-25-2003, 09:20 PM
Did you try going to Knoppix-Network/Internet-Wavelan Connection? This is where it gives information about wireless cards.

ComatoseJedi
06-25-2003, 09:29 PM
Yeah, but it says, "No wireless network card found."

serphinox
06-26-2003, 05:50 AM
Yeah, but it says, "No wireless network card found."

Im also new to it... but i could be the Wireless Encryption. which is what im facing too.. the problem is .. where do i enter them.

aay
06-26-2003, 02:58 PM
Regarding your card not being found:

Remove the card
Wait a few seconds
Put the card back in
Run wlcardconfig
Hopefully your card will be detected this time and you can fill in the relevant info and have it up and going.

aay
06-26-2003, 03:01 PM