PDA

View Full Version : Remasting and inserting new kernel

millekink
06-26-2003, 10:20 AM
I'm new to this remastering stuff and I had soms questions.

I' m making a knoppix version with pptpd support so I had to recompile my kernel. That worked. But now I'm stuck. The cd need to boot my new kernel, I changed the vmlinuz symlink in /boot to my new kernel but when I boot the cd it still searches the old kernel. So I tought my mistake was located in boot.img.

Now the actual question. If I remove vmlinuz in the boot.img file and copy my kernel to it will that kernel find my modulles. The name of my new kernel isn't vmlinuz. Is this a problem?

Millekink

arkaine23
06-26-2003, 07:54 PM
Directly from the Docs-

PREPARING YOUR DEVELOPMENT ENVIRONMENT
At this point you should already have Knoppix copied off of your CD and in source and master directories on a hard drive. In addition to making the source and master partitions (from now on I'll just call them source and master directories because I just made two directories on one partition: /mnt/hda1/source and /mnt/hda1/master.) you will also want to make two folders on the root of this partition: boot and mroot. This will leave you with a partition having four folders: master, source, boot, and mroot. The first two you should already be familiar with. 'boot' will be where we will mount the boot.img file, and 'mroot' is where we will mount miniroot.gz, which is contained within the boot.img file. Are you with me so far? Good! Let's get started..

First of all, copy master/KNOPPIX/boot.img (or boot-en.img if you want english default keyboard settings) to the root of your partition, where the four folders above reside. Stash a copy away somewhere or make a boot.img.old. Sure, you still have a copy in master/KNOPPIX, but wasn't the one you just overwrote it with broken? oops! Hopefully you still have the original CD if things get too hairy. :)