PDA

View Full Version : Which TV card to buy ?

ktheking
06-26-2003, 03:19 PM
Which TV card to buy ?

Different TV cards are available on the market.

But what I don't read anywhere is how well they work under knoppix.

Can any of you add to this forum which card you've used,which knoppix version you use,how well it worked,and what you've done to make it work ?

I am talking about the livecd versions ,NOT the hd-installation !

Thank you very,very,very much for sharing you experiences in this matter.

Koen....

pau1knopp
06-26-2003, 09:15 PM
Koen,

I have been using the Pinnacle PCTV studio card (bought on ebay new for $35) and it works great with Knoppix. I have also heard good things about the Hauppage WinTV cards, but I have no experience with them.

I have used the PCTV card while running the live cd version of Knoppix. In fact, if I have to do a hard drive install, I usually boot up the live cd to the desktop, copy over my xawtv configuration file, and watch TV using the XawTV viewing utility while I'm installing knoppix to my hard drive. Try doing that with any other distribution! Makes me laugh everytime!

The big thing you will want to know with any TV card you purchase is if it uses the BrookTrout (bttv) chipset. AFAIK linux, and specifically video for linux, does not really care about specific models as much as it cares about that.

You will have to run a configuration utility to set up all the channels, but after you are done, it will create a configuration file you can save and use over again. For xawtv this is .xawtv, a hidden file in your home directory.

Hope this information is helpful.

Regards,

~paul

aay
06-26-2003, 11:13 PM
I have also used the cheapo ATI AIW LE and it works nicely. Knoppix is pretty incredible, you can actually watch TV on your computer while you are doing an OS install.

manjo
06-27-2003, 08:02 PM