PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 3.2 v06-06-2003 VIA no sound

KPFOX1
06-28-2003, 01:51 PM
Hello everyone I am still very new to Linux and to Knoppix 3.2. the v.06-06-2003 I have installed the live cd to my HDD
and although mostly it works I am having problems with No Audio I have looked on the forum
and tried many of the tips but still no sound from CD MP3's or System.

When I run sndconfig I see this

?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ?????????????
?
? PCI Probe Results
? A PCI sound card was found in your system. The details given are:
?
? Model VIA Technologies|VTI8233 [AC97 Audio Controller]
?
? ??????
? ? Ok ?
? ??????
?
?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????

At The end of trying to configure the soundcard I see this

?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????????
?
? The following error occured running the modprobe
? /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs/kernel/drivers/sound/via82cxxx_audio.o: init_module : No such device
? /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs/kernel/drivers/sound/via82cxxx_audio.o: insmod
? /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs/kernel/drivers/sound/via82cxxx_audio.o failed
? /lib/modules/2.4.20-xfs/kernel/drivers/sound/via82cxxx_audio.o: insmod sound-slot-0 failed
?
?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????

I have tried to get alsa working but no joy with it. The alsa install using apt-get says that an error occurs
when trying to install it can't overwrite alsa-utils.
I have tried to download drivers from VIA but it seems that none are available for Debian,
there are rpms for some Linux but not for .deb
that debian can handle so I am stuck, up the creek as it were without a paddle
Hee-Hee Help
Can anyone help me to sort out this annoying problem Thank You
KPFOX1

:(

fingers99
06-28-2003, 03:37 PM