PDA

View Full Version : new Knoppix 8.2 - no3d fails

fredvej
05-18-2018, 05:48 PM
The new Knoppix 8.2 on torrent.unix-ag.uni-kl.de works well, if you do not use the cheatcode no3d.

Booting it with knoppix no3d fails to start X.

Luke M
07-15-2018, 02:29 AM
Confirmed. This is tragic since without no3d knoppix is unusable.

knp
07-18-2018, 02:02 PM
Hi,

I think that's no so tragic

In previous versions one could disable "compiz effects".

NB: I am a newbie!!

knp

Capricorny
07-20-2018, 10:40 AM
Just upgrade the actual graphics modules, roll the modified system into a "new" Knoppix with the remaster option from flash-Knoppix, and you can boot with knoppix no3d. Worked for me in both 8.2 and 8.3.

Luke M
07-24-2018, 05:07 AM
Can you upload the fixed version somewhere?

joselb
07-24-2018, 07:40 AM
Can you upload the fixed version somewhere? Yes, that would be great. And explaining the steps you did to change and remaster Knoppix.

Capricorny
07-24-2018, 08:45 AM
Can you upload the fixed version somewhere?

Nope. This is all about using the standard Debian upgrade tools. Which, especially over time, may be somewhat limited in Knoppix, because it contains elements from several releases. But in my experience, new releases are not very much more problematic than standard Debian, and with the overlay layers, one may always back up to last stable version if something goes wrong.
The notion that Knoppix is not made for upgrading is plain wrong IMHO, as is the conception that eventual upgrading in Knoppix is a risk sport, while in standard Debian it is a breeze. (I use standard Debian as my default OS.)

I can try to write up a detailed "how-to" on this, but it may take some time, because I should then retrace my steps with 8.2 or 8.3, to specify more exactly what is needed - I did a whole lot of upgrading with both, most of it unneccessary for the no3d problem, and possibly harmful now.

joselb
07-25-2018, 08:27 AM