PDA

View Full Version : Netgear MA101 USB WLAN device

Zuron007
07-01-2003, 01:08 AM
I have a question to anyone who can tell me how i can set up my usb wlan device. It is not recognized by knoppix on the autodetect and lisadaemon cant find it either. I am a complete noob to linux and would like to know how i can configure my network connection to be able to run my knoppix box with an online connection.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can shed some light on my dilemma.

dudeldei
07-16-2003, 11:53 PM
Hi,
I had the same problem:

how i can set up my usb wlan device. It is not recognized by knoppix on the autodetect and lisadaemon cant find it either. I am a complete noob to linux and would like to know how i can configure my network connection to be able to run my knoppix box with an online connection
Your device probably has an (yet unsupported) chipset by Atmel - depending on the revision of your model. For me, the following has worked out for my harddisk installation of Knoppix (after one or two nights of trying to compile the right driver): get the sources of the driver from http://atmelwlandriver.sourceforge.net/
Compile the driver on your own. At the next boot, I had to run "netcardconfig" to configure the wlan and the ifconfig parameters, and it worked. Now, the bad part of the message: I still can't figure out how to get this automatic configuration done at boot time. This means, I have to do it every time I boot
:(
hth
Axel

PS. of course you have to install the kernel sources first before compiling the driver - see thread http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=969

Zuron007
07-18-2003, 12:18 AM
I heard of the atmel driver from sysopt.com but as it is i have no idea of how to run/configure/compile the thing.

I mean i have tried untaring the atmel driver, changing the fstab and ifconfig files to try and get it to work. So far it has been fruitless. I have the rev. b version of the Netgear MA101.