PDA

View Full Version : Help me plz, I am an uber noob

microsoft_sucks
07-03-2003, 07:52 PM
Hey guys a while ago I switched my server over to linux and I wasn't really sure if I would like it or not, anyway I only did an 9 gb partition on it and I let my cs server run, it has been like a few months now and the thing ran out of space, I spent hours but was unable to start up x-windows, it always went to failsafe and I don't know how to get those files into my dell-computer. So last night I downloaded knoppix, put it in the cd drive and boom I was in, but I am always logged under knoppix. I know my root account password, infact there is no password for root, and I need to login as root so I can get my psychostats, logfiles, and a bunch of other things from my server like the script someone gave me so it restarts every 12 hours and all that crap, I would greatly appreciate if someone can tell me how I can get access to these files, I tried to logout in KDE and that stopped the entire knoppix session and I tried the command login but it says it must be done at sh or whatever so I type in sh then login and I get the same message, thanks for your help :) Oh yeah and I forgot to mention like every 5 minutes or 10 minutes the screen goes blank when running knoppix and I have to restart the computer.

rickenbacherus
07-03-2003, 08:12 PM
Have a look at the documentation here (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/FaqRescue)

adamm
07-03-2003, 08:12 PM
I would much rather have seen
"Could someone please help, I am new to linux"
than

"Help me plz, I am an uber noob"

I'm getting sick of this "noob" stuff, and bad spelling. :x
Maybe I'm just getting old, but it's starting to tick me off. :wink:

microsoft_sucks
07-03-2003, 08:21 PM