PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix-STD The double edge sword

spazzman
07-11-2003, 12:05 AM
I have enjoyed this forum and all its threads. I learn alot from people who post here. Newbies and Debian veterans alike. My basic question is " Is Knoppix-STD more a tool for Script Kiddies and Blackhats or is it more a tool for Security minded Whitehats? " Software can be found here: www.knoppix-std.org

madtripper
07-11-2003, 01:37 PM
I'm brand new to it and have little experience with most forms of linux in general. I'm not sure if there is a general consensus or not but I picked it up to get a better grip on network security which I believe falls under your "whitehat" category. There is a definite strength in this setup and while the original intentions may or may not have been security breaching, a great byproduct that came along is a very secure operating system that seems to be almost bulletproof. I am having a good time with it but as I said, linux is pretty much new to me.

Tripper

rdoma219
07-12-2003, 10:01 PM
Although this os can be used for maliscious purposes as noted from some earlier threads, I would hope that this will not be the predominant use for it. I am new to Linux and find it a new challenge and a refreshing change from m$. I am looking forward to reaping all the benefits that Linux has to offer. I amsure that I will be looking for help from newbs as well as vets. And I also hope that the script kiddies will be recognized by seasoned pros and exposed in this forum. To all those who have helped and all those that will, a very large thank you, and my white hats off to you!!!
:shock:

t1ck_t0ck
07-17-2003, 09:47 PM