PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: USB Drive Read-Only

jratlif2
07-12-2003, 06:33 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux and Knoppix. I have Knoppix 3.2 running and it recognizes the USB pen drive and I can mount and read files from it. However, when I try to save a file to it, I get a message that the drive is read only. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jeff

Stephen
07-12-2003, 07:08 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux and Knoppix. I have Knoppix 3.2 running and it recognizes the USB pen drive and I can mount and read files from it. However, when I try to save a file to it, I get a message that the drive is read only. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jeff

Right click on the icon for the drive and unselect the read only check box in the permissions tab.

jratlif2
07-13-2003, 05:28 AM
Thanks, Stephen. I told you I was a newbie.

Maybe you can help with a different problem. I have about 30 of these pen drives I plan to use with my high school students. A brand new one mounts correctly as SDA1 and I can access it from KDE as well as a shell.

However, one that has been formatted from Windows XP shows up on the desktop as four separate drives SDA1 - 4 and when I click on any of them I get a message that Knoppix was unable to mount because the file system was unrecognized. It doesn't seem to matter whether the drive was formatted FAT or FAT32.

Any ideas on this one?

Thanks again,
Jeff

Stephen
07-13-2003, 08:59 AM
I would say that XP is using some kind of strange formatting for them. What I would do is boot from the knoppix cd then open a console window (clam shell icon on the taskbar) then sudo cfdisk /dev/sda to open cfdisk to remove the partitions on the pen drive just choose the delete option for each partition then choose the new option and make the drive one partition like the other and then choose the type option and set it to fat32 then write partition table and exit the program.

Then format the drive with sudo mkfs.vfat /dev/sda and you should have a pen drive with one partition and formatted fat32.