PDA

View Full Version : Bootable Starcraft CD

Scythe
07-13-2003, 01:08 PM
I thought it would be mildly cool if I could make a Knoppix disk that would have starcraft built in. All you need do is stick in the CD, reboot and voila, starcraft for all.

I was wondering how I would go about this or if there was already such an invention floating around the 'net. I'm a total newbie as far as linux is concerned but I'm willing to learn.

I have a legal copy of Starcraft and Starcraft: Broodwar. I also downloaded the 6/6/2003 Knoppix 3.2 ISO and I've burnt it to a disc.

Anyone know any sites or tutorials that would help me out?

Baby steps please. :D

--Scythe--

MattT
07-13-2003, 02:41 PM
If there is a Starcraft mod it can't be redistributed because it's proprietary. Morfix game mod has Freecraft. Maybe not as cool as Starcraft (I've never played Starcraft) but still a fun game to try out.

Scythe
07-13-2003, 02:56 PM
If I wanted to make it totally legit I would just do it with the spawn install version of starcraft. It's TCP/IP or UDP MP only. That's all I want.

Can anyone link me to a good program, that runs under windows, that lets me chop and choose programs that go into my linux ISO? I want to chop everything out and just have Wine and the starcraft files in there so starcraft will run.

I'm running NTFS so I don't really want to stuff around in linux to get a new ISO. I've found this "knoppix-customize" program but it's a CLI-based thing and is rather tedious to use.

--Scythe--

DaRacerz
07-13-2003, 07:09 PM
Scythe

Before you go ahead and put in any hard effort into Remaster KNOPPIX for your Starcraft autoloader with wine, first check that Starcraft works on wine.