PDA

View Full Version : Kernel panic: VFS : Unable to mount root fs on 03:02

biohazard
07-15-2003, 10:10 PM
Hi all... I resently installed knoppix 3.2 on my copmuter the install went smooth an everything but when I rebooted the machine the boot halted on this message Kernel panic: VFS : Unable to mount root fs on 03:02.
I installed the LILO bootloader and partitioned the disk in 2 partitions... one 600 MB Linux Swap and one 20000 Mb Linux partition with the boot flag..... im new to linux so pleas have your answears accurate.... thx

Rgosen
09-11-2003, 08:44 PM
When I installed Knoppix on hd I let the script maka a boot disk at the end.
This will boot knoppix from the floppy drive.

Maybe this will help

fef
12-26-2003, 02:55 AM
i've got the same problem here.. "FAT: bogus logical sector size 0" just after loading xfs module.

i think this bogus message is that the FAT table of the harddrive is not available nor readable.
does anybody have a clue why? due to vfs maybe?

booting up the cd without switches and trying to mount a partition
(mount -t xfs /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2) gives the same bogus error message.
or doing a "cfdisk /dev/hda" gives a slithly different message too..

turn lilo.conf "lba32" on and off is without any difference for both, it doesn't care.

rescue/boot floppy doesn't work either, it's a copy of boot-files out of the /boot directory and result in the same bogus error message.
the floppy is more valuable if "LI99 99 99 99 99 99 etc.." occur.
this problem is not a lilo boot problem for using a bootfloppy.

there is something wrong with vfs, but don't know what, so if somebody have a clue, pls let me know why and how to solve this problem.

i still managed to get this knx3.3 hdinstall running but it's not an elegant one.
hopefully someone has a blinking idea out of this problem, pls let me know and tnx in advance!