PDA

View Full Version : Boot problems

sonic20
07-26-2003, 03:46 AM
I had tried Knoppix loaded from disk 3 times with out any problems on my W98 box and I liked it. I wanted to do a hard install on its own drive 2.95 and maintain W98 on another to do dual boot. I decided to erase everything on the extra drive, but could not get rid of the trash basket from W98.

I was going to follow pnti's instructions, but now I cannot load the os from disk. After the Welcome to Knoppix 3.2 screen displays, the program begins to auto load but stops after about 10 lines after the lines :
USB found, managed by hotplug
enabling hotplug manager
autoconfiguring device (followed by green bar) h

Then the cursor stops at the beginning of next line and just blinks.

I appreciate any ideas, (BTW I am really new to linux). Thanks

sonic20
07-26-2003, 04:34 AM
javascript:emoticon (':oops:')Sorry for my previous post, I went back to the Knoppix 3.2 screen and selected "failsafe" as a boot, this eliminated any problems with the hangup of the install; however it presents other challenges to be overcome by my lack of knowlege.

Sorry for previous post.

rickenbacherus
07-26-2003, 04:58 AM
As you can see I split your posts from their previous location. It is advisable to create your own topic in a forum so that it has better visibility.

I had tried Knoppix loaded from disk 3 times with out any problems on my W98 box and I liked it. I wanted to do a hard install on its own drive 2.95 and maintain W98 on another to do dual boot. I decided to erase everything on the extra drive, but could not get rid of the trash basket from W98.

I was going to follow pnti's instructions, but now I cannot load the os from disk. After the Welcome to Knoppix 3.2 screen displays, the program begins to auto load but stops after about 10 lines after the lines :
USB found, managed by hotplug
enabling hotplug manager
autoconfiguring device (followed by green bar) h