PDA

View Full Version : Programming questions

i990315
08-01-2003, 06:40 PM
Hello!
I use a installed RedHat Linux 8.0 version and I'm a founder-member from a Linux Users Group at my university. I'm a Computer Sciences student and I'm working on a document to propose free software (as in freedom) usage as default. Although each student is free to choose what he wants installed on his hard-disk, so Cygwin, some free software for other operating systems and LiveCD distributions are being analysed.
I had just a small contact with Knoppix and it seemed very interesting. Does it has everything to programme under graphical mode? (X-Windows applications, Screen design software and so on) Does it includes KDE, GNOME and X-Windows libraries and header files?

Probably you're able to help me: we have a module during the course where is taught Visual C++, MFC and ActiveX. What FREE alternatives can I propose to this module. I consider that the most important thing in the course is to learn concepts, not OS-specific stuff which can be studied by other ways (on-line manuals, books, formation courses).

Thank you for your attention,

Manuel

aay
08-01-2003, 08:22 PM
Knoppix does have KDE and several other window managers, but no GNOME (not enough space). There are some development tools. The best way for you to make a judgement is to download it and give it a test spin.

Edwin
08-01-2003, 09:24 PM
Knoppix has KDevelop which seems like a fairly complete IDE to me. It has libraries for C/C++, Qt and KDE. However I could not find the documentation for these libraries and there was no graphical screendesigner. But I didn't have a very thorough look.