PDA

View Full Version : home part. noob ques.

edsin
08-06-2003, 04:49 PM
Hi,
Noob here.I followed Steven' Howto to format a new partition as home partition with reiserfs(after it was already on /).Worked for many days.Afters, i tried to delete /home/(from / and whatever was in it-to save on space as shown by Steven) by booting off cd:sudo rm -rf /home/* ;wasnt successful(maybe i was,but i could see the folders still-now i think,after reading Bruno' tips in scottfinnie' forum,it may have been symlinks)but deleted some files using i switch(rm -ri /home/*).Booted in root and tried to delete the home directory in /;permision was denied.Now when i log in as knoppix user,i get some error"couldn't start copserver". and kmserver failed to start and no write permission for /home/ in /.Is there anything i can do(other than reinstalling)? Knoppix3.2-30th March.There is a foldercalled Knoppix in /home/(both in / and sep.home partn.) and inside 3 folders:desktop,tmp and 1more. Thanks.By the way,software removal tool(hope Klaus finds a way for us to intall a mean/lean/fast version) works in icewm (doesnt in kde-even removes software that was not possible in KDE using commandline).
ed

rickenbacherus
08-06-2003, 06:12 PM
Did you edit /etc/fstab so that your new /home partition gets mounted on boot? Here's the line from my fstab:

/dev/hda4 /home auto rw,auto,user,exec 0 0

Of course use your own partition. ;)

You should be able to log in as root and edit /etc/fstab. If not then boot the Knoppix disc, mount /root and edit from there.

edsin
08-11-2003, 04:02 PM
Thanks.Sorry for replying so late-i do not have internet access at home.
Here is my fstab.After converting /home to reiserfs,i manually changed "ext3" to "reiserfs" in fstab file(thx again to bruno' tips).

/dev/hda1 / reiserfs defaults 0 1
/dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showxec,umask=022 0 0
/dev/scd0 /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,auto 0 0