PDA

View Full Version : No floppy and unable to boot from CD

godsdog
01-18-2003, 04:13 AM
I couldn't say enough great things about Knoppix. I've decided to run a stable os on my p120 laptop which can't boot from it's cd. It's one of those laptops where you can only either have the CD in or the Floppy in. I was wondering if there was some sort of boot loader I could put on the harddrive that would work in place of the floppy drive in order to boot knoppix using the cd...

BTW It was knoppix that turned me on to Linux, so I'm a newbie. Any newbie instructions would be terrific.

Thanks for an opportunity to break free from the grasp of Bill.

godsdog
01-18-2003, 04:56 AM
After reading deeper in the forums, I've seen talk of people copying a file to thier HD's. How can I boot from floppy and open the knoppix os from the HD?

godsdog
01-18-2003, 06:16 PM
Hi. I've managed to copy the knoppix file (the really, really big one) onto my hard drive. That is now the only thing on my drive and now have just enough space for a swap after I get this working.

I've made a boot floppy from the CD and would like to know the command needed to type in to start knoppix off the file on the fat32 HD.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Dave_Bechtel
01-19-2003, 06:20 AM
--The big knoppix file needs to be in x:\knoppix directory. If you boot from the floppy, it will detect it there. If you boot with a Knoppix cd in the drive, it will run from CD regardless (this is a good thing.)

--BTW, the x:\knoppix doesn't have to be on C: - I've gotten it to work with F:\KNOPPIX\knoppix.

--If you want to be really hardcore, you can create a 1-cylinder primary partition (hda2 thru 4), zero it out and then DD the boot-en.img to it. Activate it, and it will boot from the HD with the syslinux stuff just as if it were running the Knoppix boot floppy: (DISCLAIMER - don't forget to DD the latest boot-en.img to HD/floppy when there's an upgrade!)