PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question about using the knoppix, safety etc.

JohnElmore
08-18-2003, 07:06 AM
Hi!

I'm a total newbie with this thing and would like some info about the knoppix.

1. I'm using the latest live cd and would like to know what can be safely done. If i understood correctly i should not write anything to my hard disk (which is in use with my Windows XP home and uses NTFS partitioning)

So i should not save anything to disk? right? :)

2. I tried the Gimp but it gave me installation screen. So, it should be installed. Um... if i can't use the hard disk where can i install it?

3. What can be done with knoppix / or expected to get by using knoppix? :) totally stoopid question but being a windows user i don't know anything about the programs etc. (except the gimp) what are the best main applications?

Thanks in advance for your comments!

od
08-18-2003, 03:19 PM
Hi,

As another relative newbie, I can assure you that Knoppix doesn't install anything on to your Hard Disk at all. It creates it's own temporary working space, (which you can save if you want to - for future use) so it is OK to follow the setup instructions for The Gimp. When you shutdown everything is back to normal. You have all your standard office packages and whole lot of multimedia / tech software as well, just go ahead and experiment! All is free and highly configurable!

JohnElmore
08-18-2003, 05:29 PM
Thank you for your comments!

Is there any place i could save files permanently (safely) ?

I'm using the knoppix on a cd-r... i'm wondering that should i make
a cd-rw of it so it could be read and write.

Does it work like that and what kind of cd-rw disc would suffice? (for example how fast should it be)

j.drake
08-18-2003, 05:54 PM

Does it work like that and what kind of cd-rw disc would suffice? (for example how fast should it be)