PDA

View Full Version : driver cannot be compiled.itīs trying to write to ramdisk

zeze
08-18-2003, 05:55 PM
i am new to knoppix.
I too am trying to get a driver (modem) to work with knoppix, but it needs to be compiled first. Following the instructions isn't a problem, the problem lies in the drivers try to compile to the ramdisk (i guess), obviously it is not allowed to do so and i cannot use my modem.
i am trying to work on a toshiba satellite 1900-305 with 512mb of ram.
is there any chance to change the default directory from de cd to hdd so that i can install other drivers??
thanks.
jose simas

JoDaY
08-20-2003, 12:04 PM
Hi,

You surely have some Makefile in your archive of your driver.

You have to modify ithis in order to place the work in a folder where you can write (ex:/home/knoppix)

The aim is to obtain the .o file wich is a module

Nb: You can(t write for example in /usr/bin /usr/sbin ...

zeze
08-20-2003, 05:53 PM
for starters, thanks!
i have done what you said but the d*mn thing doesnīt compile totally.
i get 5 .o compiled files but near the end it keeps on giving me some errors i some other files..
do you know if someone has slmdm-2.7.10 compiled? i think that would overcome my problems..

JoDaY
08-20-2003, 06:50 PM
It sometimes happen at the end of the script that a command depmod which write in some file give an error...

You've to look at this error and find why it happen... in order to modify the command in the script or to comment it

for ex: if you only look for compiling module you don't need to "automate" their loading at boot time ...

But it's hard helping you in sense that i don't know what are the result of your errors...

May you post the error message or tell us which "modem" or driver you want to compil ?

zeze
08-20-2003, 10:56 PM
i am trying to compile slmdm-2.7.10 into a knoppix live cd with a home directory in the hard drive but is not fully instaled to the drive.
sorry i am a noobie...