PDA

View Full Version : Error: only one processer

Cyberdude93
08-20-2003, 09:38 PM
I am a total newbie to the linux scene and am having trouble running Knoppix. When I boot it up and enter no commands (or the US keybaord command) after asking about video settings it says "Error: only one processer" and then it keeps repeating something every 30 seconds, sorry I can't remember.

If, and ONLY if I do failsafe it doesn't say this and seems to start up fine, up to a point where the monitor does the following:

1. Say "Monitor will shut off to save power" - part of the monitor not the computer
2. Go into a black screen about 1 second later

And this will repeat for ever. Although it seems to be working for a minute or 2 then it does nothing.

My processer is an AMD XP 2400+ (2ghz) and my graphics card is a Geforce 4 ti4200. And help would be appriciated

Stephen
08-20-2003, 10:50 PM
I am a total newbie to the linux scene and am having trouble running Knoppix. When I boot it up and enter no commands (or the US keybaord command) after asking about video settings it says "Error: only one processer" and then it keeps repeating something every 30 seconds, sorry I can't remember.

If, and ONLY if I do failsafe it doesn't say this and seems to start up fine, up to a point where the monitor does the following:

1. Say "Monitor will shut off to save power" - part of the monitor not the computer
2. Go into a black screen about 1 second later

And this will repeat for ever. Although it seems to be working for a minute or 2 then it does nothing.

My processer is an AMD XP 2400+ (2ghz) and my graphics card is a Geforce 4 ti4200. And help would be appriciated

Try the cheat code (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/CheatCodes) knoppix nosmp noddc at the boot: prompt to stop detection of multi-processor and the monitor and maybe noapm for no power management. You may also want to use xmodule=nv for your graphics card as well.

rickenbacherus
08-20-2003, 10:53 PM