PDA

View Full Version : How config FTP



treo
08-25-2003, 03:07 PM
How to config the ftp for knoppix?

Thks

ktheking
08-25-2003, 08:20 PM
1)make sure network is working then,
2)make sure devices which are meant to be read are mounted (ex the hd)
just click on the icon on your desktop of the drive.
3)get your ip adress
ifconfig /all
4)type lines below in terminal

passwd Knoppix

sudo rm /etc/hosts.deny

sudo rm /etc/hosts.allow

sudo /etc/init.d/inetd restart

Use the user 'knoppix' and the password you have chosen to acces your ftp server.
If your client is windoze ,you can use an ftp client such as filezilla (freeware) to ftp. Explorer is not a good ftp client.
Get filezilla over here : http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/

Go to /mnt to see you devices hda1,hda2,hdb1,,cdrom,etc ... .

If ftp server is rather far away, combine it with an ssh server or vncserver to remote control you ftp server.

see the topic 'headless knoppix' in the docs section.

greetzzzzz,

A. Jorge Garcia
10-29-2003, 01:46 AM
I tried everything as you said (based on FAQFTP) but when I ftp from a client I get a timeout after logging-in and just trying to ls!

Help!

TIA,

A. Jorge Garcia
10-31-2003, 12:02 AM
I just got fish working by setting up sshd on the server. Is there some sort of ftpd?

Please help!